Four Months

4 Month Chalkboard

It’s been four months since our little Miss P sluggishly joined us. This time has passed swiftly, yet it feels like she’s been with us forever; I suppose, in a way, she has.

Sometimes I find myself thinking I can’t wait until Miss P crawls or walks or talks. I get so excited imagining her sitting up on her own or tasting her first solid foods. Then I have to stop myself, because every moment I spend in the future is a moment I’ve missed of today, and these moments are fleeting.

She has already grown and changed so much.

1661756_10100432966972795_1438503675_n

I often find myself staring at her while she sleeps. It’s like I’m still taking it all in. I’m in utter awe of this tiny human who now fills more space in my heart than I ever even knew existed.

I catch Tim doing it, too. Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night, and he’s standing over her crib just watching her sleep.

“What did we do before Miss P?” One of us will randomly ask the next day.

And, although she’s been with us for such a short while, it seems too long ago to even remember. It’s a blurry past-life.

***

Once we passed the three-month mark, so many magical things began happening: rolling over, reaching for and holding onto toys and other objects, feeling the different textures of everything she gets her tiny hands on, splashing in the bathtub, squealing with delight, and making razzing sounds. We’ve even had a few giggles here and there.

Miss P’s been on a relatively consistent schedule these days, albeit her own schedule, but I don’t mind. To keep things interesting, there’s usually one night each week that she decides she isn’t going to go to bed. She’ll babble and razz, roll onto her belly and look around. She’s captivated by so many new sights and sensations.

Sometimes we lay together on the couch, enjoying each other’s company well into the night. If I’m too tired to stay awake any longer and she still isn’t asleep, I’ll put her in the Ergo and pace around the house. This always does the trick. If it happens to be a Friday or Saturday, and Tim doesn’t have to work in the morning, he’ll usually stay up with her while I get some rest.

These nights can be exhausting, but they’re always worth it for the sleepy baby cuddles I get the next day.

The first week of Poet’s fourth month has been a busy one around here. Tim’s been sick for the third time this winter. There’s been a nasty bug going around, so I’ve been taking preventative measures – running around the house sanitizing everything in sight, preparing nutrient-dense foods and drinking lots of apple cider vinegar and Emergen-C – to keep myself, and, in turn, Miss P, healthy.

I wanted to make something to help relieve Tim’s cold symptoms and aid his recovery, so Miss P and I went to work mincing ginger in the kitchen. Fresh ginger is one of my juicing staples, but today I decided to use it to make Tim ginger tea. I was very pleased with the results, so I’m sharing them:

Miss P’s Ginger “Tea”

  • hot water in your favorite mug
  • 1 teaspoon of fresh minced ginger per 8 oz. of hot water (or to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon of raw honey (or sweetener of your choice)
  • lemon wedge

Put the ginger in the hot water, and let steep for a minimum of five minutes. Add the honey and a squeeze of lemon. Stir. Enjoy! (Note: I let the minced ginger settle at the bottom of the mug, then discarded it after the liquid was gone, but if you’re feeling brave – it’s got quite a kick – go ahead and eat it.)

This “tea” is so simple to make, and it’s wonderful for colds and such. The hot water helps boost the immune system, ginger has anti-inflamitory properties, raw honey is anti-bacterial, anti-viral, and anti-fungal, and lemon juice helps cleanse the body.

I’ve also been working on Miss P’s Four Month Photo Shoot this week. She’s full of so much spunk and sass these days. Here are a few of my favorite pictures:

4 Months 1

Are you kidding me with those cheeks?

4 Months 3

And that smile?

4 Months 4

And those toes? I seriously can’t handle the cuteness of those little toes.

4 Months 2

I fall more and more in love with her Every. Single. Day.

This month’s photo shoot was a bit more, um, active than the first few. Miss P kept rolling over and trying to eat the props. (I swear she’ll put anything in her mouth besides a bottle.)

[Behind the scenes]

4 months 6

“You seriously expect me to lay still?”

4 month 8

“But, Mama, I can roll over now!”

4 months 7

“And this blanket tastes so good!” Nom Nom Nom.

I was so excited to show Tim all the pictures I took.

“She’s such a little woman,” he always says. And she is, she really is.

Leave a Reply

